Temptress

My body is a temple

And you tell me that

You’ve come to worship it

 

You tell me that

You love me

But love doesn’t feel like

Bruised wrists and red eyes

 

Love isn’t screaming no

As your coarse lips press against

What you call

My caramel skin

 

You proceed

As if my desperate cries

Were an invitation

 

You proceed

Because you believe

You deserve it

 

You are not entitled to me

Just because you are drowning

In lust

 

My body is a temple

And I must guard it

On long walks home

With beady eyed men

Whistling at me

Like I’m some bitch on the street

 

Like i come on command

Obedient

I will not kneel before you

 

My body is a temple

I am the god who it was made for

I am the one who makes the rules

 

The only person I answer to

Is myself

The only person who is allowed to consent

Is me

 

My body is a temple

And you will not destroy it

 

Leave a comment